I've also spoken to people who have made the move themselves. For nurses trained outside the European Union or European Economic Area, you will need to register as a nurse with the regulatory agency in UK, Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC). The best states to apply to when overseas are CA, FL, TX and VT. Hi lou1991, how is the process going? Hi, Im a graduate trained as an adult nurse in the UK! In any event, I wish you the best of luck in your nursing career! The process could take a year to complete in full. I would be skeptical, and as long as they are not asking for money then I would proceed with caution. If you trained after 2000 its unlikely you will have the hours in peds, OB and psych. Nurses who work in the NHS notoriously get paid a ridiculously low wage for the work they do, which is why one of the most popular places to emigrate to is the United States. This website provides entertainment value only, not medical advice or nursing protocols. Find CCNE-Accredited RN Programs While the aforementioned are required, most states also require foreign-educated nurses to complete a Foreign Educated Nurses … Im interested in moving to the UK for a year or so. Only real way to find out is apply and see what the BON says. I had no additional work experience within nursing (aside from nursing school clinicals and a little volunteer work), and I was able to get hired directly out of school. See our full, Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window), Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window), Click to share on Pinterest (Opens in new window), Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window), Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window), Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window), Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window), Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window), Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window), Rooting Reflex in Newborn Infant Baby | Pediatric Nursing Assessment, C-Section vs Vaginal Birth Delivery: My Experience | Birth